Microscopy Core

Overview of Services

The School of Medicine Light Microscopy Facility is a state-of-the-art imaging resource for the UCSD community. Designed with the needs of UCSD labs in mind, the facility features Super resolution, 2-photon, confocal and deconvolution capabilities. The equipment currently available for use includes an OMX Structured Illumination System, Leica SP5 Spectral Confocal and Multiphoton, Olympus FV1000 Spectral Confocal, a Perkin Elemer UltraVIEW Vox Spinning Disk, a NanoZoomer Slide Scanner, a Deltavision RT Deconvolution System, an MMI Laser Microsection System, and Olympus MVX10 Macro-View Stereoscope. The facility is managed by a microscopy expert who provides consultation as well as training and technical assistance, and employs a student asisstant, who as part of their duties helps provide technical assistance as required to facility users. All equipment and specialized imaging software is available for hourly use.  An expert histologist is available to perform specialized histology services including Clarity of tissues for deep imaging and Array Tomography for high resolution and correlative microscopy.

Microscope core is all BSL1 rated, and only room 002 (Perkin Elmer Spinning Disk) is rated for BSL2.

 

 

Leadership

Name

Title

Role

Phone

Email

Jennifer Santini

Dr. Binhai Zheng

Associate Dev. Eng.

Associate Professor

Managing Director

Director

(858)534-0538

(858) 534-5807

jsantini@ucsd.edu

bizheng@ucsd.edu

Dr. William Mobley

Chair of Neurosciences

Supervising PI

 

wmobley@ucsd.edu

 

Location and hours of operation

Staffed Hours: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM M-F

Hours Open: 24/7 with access

Location: CMME Rm B009

                9500 Gilman Drive

                La Jolla, CA 92093

 

Link to Core Webpage

Core Site

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Jennifer Santini
Managing Director
 
858-545-0538
 
jsantini@ucsd.edu
 
CMME B006
 
Heather Pfeffer
Fiscal Contact
 
858-822-2106
 
hpfeffer@ucsd.edu
 
BSB B302
 
Fritz Leader
Financial Administrator
 
858-534-5963
 
fritz@ucsd.edu
 
BSB B304
 
Agnieszka Brzozoowska-Prechtl
Histologist
 
858-534-7863
 
aprechtl@ucsd.edu
 
CMME 3006
 
Krista Kim
Assistant
 
818-391-9217
 
kjk018@ucsd.edu
 
CMME B009
 
Miranda Bohm
Technician
 
858-534-6121
 
miranda.bohm@yahoo.com
 
CMME B009