ALERT

ATTENTION ⚠️

In Observance of a U.S. Holiday Agilent Cross Lab/ iLab Operations Software Support Help Desk will be closed during U.S. hours on Wednesday June 19th, 2024. We will resume regular U.S. support hours on Thursday June 20th, 2024. EU and APAC Support will remain open during this time. For urgent matters, please add "Urgent" to the ticket/ email subject or press "1", when prompted, to escalate a call on the iLab Support phone and we will prioritize those requests first.

Instrumentation Resource Facility

 

Biomedical Research Equipment 

The Instrumentation Resource Facility (IRF) is an integral component of the research and teaching mission of the University of South Carolina School of Medicine (USC SOM). Located within the facility are several major pieces of state-of-the-art biomedical research equipment that provide techniques ranging from whole animal through single cell imaging to analysis at the molecular level. The IRF also houses a full range of ancillary equipment that is available for sample preparation. In addition to serving as a resource for acquisition of primary data, the IRF also has the capacity for image enhancement and related data analysis. 

The mission of the IRF is to provide state-of-the-art biomedical research instrumentation for use in the USC SOM and USC main campus research environments. As time and resources permit, outside use of the facility is also permitted and encouraged. Technical assistance and training are available in all areas of research sponsored in the IRF. 

 Equipment & services available to users include:

 

▪ Whole Animal Imaging Instruments

▪ Histology & Light Microscopy

▪ Live Cell & Confocal Imaging Systems

▪ Electron Microscopy Systems                           

▪ Image Analysis Software

▪ Flow Cytometry/Cell Sorting

▪ Molecular Analysis

▪ Training, Extended Assistance, & Consultations  

IRF Faculty

Austin Worden, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
Cell Biology & Anatomy
Director of IRF
Phone: (803) 216-3823 
Austin.Worden@uscmed.sc.edu
Home page

 

Robert Price, Ph.D.
Research Professor
Cell Biology & Anatomy
Director of IRF (retiring)
Phone: (803) 216-3824 
Bob.Price@uscmed.sc.edu
Home page 

 

Jay D. Potts, Ph.D.
Professor
Cell Biology & Anatomy
Assistant Director of IRF
Phone: (803) 216-3820 
Jay.Potts@uscmed.sc.edu
Home page

 

Jason Kubinak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Director of Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting
Phone: (803) 216-3408
Jason.Kubinak@uscmed.sc.edu

IRF Staff

Anna Harper 
Lab Manager and Administrator  
Phone: (803) 216-3825
Anna.Harper@uscmed.sc.edu

 

Lorain Junor
Research Specialist
Phone: (803) 216-3859
Lorain.Junor@uscmed.sc.edu

   

Ryan Ball 
Graduate Research Assistant
Phone: (803) 216-3859
Ryan.Ball@uscmed.sc.edu

   

Karmen Owen
Research Specialist
Phone: (803) 216-3858
Karmen.Owen@uscmed.sc.edu

 

Kenny Johnson 
Graduate Research Assistant
Phone: (803) 216-3854
Kenny.Johnson@uscmed.sc.edu   

Links and Resources

Instrumentation Resource Facility 

University of South Carolina School of Medicine

USC School of Medicine Basic Science Departments

USC School of Medicine Master's Program Applied Biotechnology

Microscopy Society of America

Southeastern Microscopy Society